Ohio State nav bar

Accreditation and Memberships

The Department of Theatre, Film, and Media Arts is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST). Founded in 1969, NAST is an organization of approximately 135 accredited institutional members made up of schools, conservatories, colleges, and universities. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials.

The accreditation process includes

  • a self-evaluative description (self-study) of the institution or unit,
  • an on-site review by a team of evaluators, and
  • judgment by an accreditation decision-making body, normally called a commission.

Accreditation reviews focus on educational quality, institutional integrity, and educational improvements.

The department is a member of the University Resident Theatre Association (URTA), a national organization devoted to ensuring the continued renewal of American theatre by supporting excellence in the professional training of new artists. The department recruits at the annual auditions for its MFA program.


The department is a member of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc (USITT), an organization founded to promote dialogue, research, and learning among practitioners of theatre design and technology. Department faculty, staff, and students regularly present their research at the annual conference.


The department is a member of the Southeastern Theatre Conference (SETC), nationwide organization that helps connect theatre practitioners of all experience levels with training and resources. The department recruits at the annual conference, where students regularly present their research.