Academic Structure


The Department of Theatre is one of thirty six units in the Division of Arts & Humanities which also includes the Departments of Art, Art Education, History of Art, Dance, Industrial Design, the School of Music, and the Advanced Computing Center for the Arts and Design. This organizational consolidation of departments and a school dedicated to scholarly and artistic achievement in the arts provides a united approach to education and training in all of the arts under a broader umbrella of the College of Arts and Sciences, which includes three divisions: Arts & Humanities, Natural & Mathematical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences. Dean Peter Hahn oversees the Division of Arts & Humanities.

The Department of Theatre offers a Bachelor of Arts degree for undergraduate majors and the Master of Arts, Master of Fine Arts, and the Doctor of Philosophy degrees for graduate students. There is also opportunity for the creation of interdisciplinary and personalized study programs at the major level and a number of interdisciplinary minors for both undergraduate and graduate students.
The department has a full-time faculty of 13 well-qualified professors whose backgrounds cover a wide range of specialties in performance and academic areas of theatre and film. They are supplemented by additional expert teaching staff and part-time lecturers, and by scholars and artists in other disciplines. The department provides the university and the Columbus community with an active production program, including five to six major productions during the academic year.
In broad strokes, the university's academic (or organizational) structure is as follows:
  • President
  • Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Executive Dean
  • Arts & Humanities Dean
  • Chair
  • Executive Advisory Committee
  • Program (Graduate/Undergraduate) Directors
  • Area/Program Advisory Committees
In our Design and Technology area we have both faculty and instructional staff. The faculty serve as resident designers and advisors in their area of expertise (costume, lighting, scenic, or technical direction) while the staff serve as studio/laboratory managers in their area of expertise with Graduate Teaching Associates providing labor and supervision of undergraduate student labor:
  • Chair/Producer
  • Faculty: Resident Designer/Advisor
  • Staff: Supervisor/Manager
  • Graduate Teaching Associates
  • Undergraduate Students